Little Chimp by flöschen

Itohya Forest

High tropical forest with great bio-diversity in flora and fauna

High tropical forest with great bio-diversity in flora and fauna

Next to the school compound TECO Munteme borders on a large area of indigenous forest of approximately 350 hectare as well as almost 150 hectare of open bush and grassland. At the end of the 1980´s TECO was able to secure a 49-year lease on these areas. The land was measured and the lease secured. The importance of the forest for the school’s future was recognised despite the fact that the amount of valuable timber was very low at that time. We can thank Seezi Mugisa, a longstanding member of staff, for his dedication to prevent all attempts of encroachment but also the execution of many trials of nursing native tree seedlings to look after the work in the forest. Without him the forest would no doubt have been cut down and the land turned into agricultural land.

Fauna and Flora

At the beginning, the primates living in the forest were a grave nuisance. Especially the great number of baboons, which raided and destroyed the fields of the school and neighboring farmers on a regular basis. Neither guards nor fences could stop these very intelligent animals from intruding. Chimpanzees were rather rare and very shy guests at that time. The very nosy black and white colobus monkeys and the vervet monkeys however came up to the houses. Mangabees and red-tailed monkeys kept hidden in the canopy and were hardly seen. Until the 1980´s large areas of virgin forest still existed in the area alongside rivers and streams. The Itohya forest supports a huge variety of birds and insects, which live from it and nowadays help to secure its future.

The large bio-diversity of the forest is cited in various publications. Even though Uganda is well known for its abundance of species the Itohya appears to be a very important `bio-diversity hotspot` with its great variety of trees, bushes and shrubs. In addition it acts as a very important water reservoir with all of its branching rivers and swamps and its groundwater supply.

Pressure on the Forest

Increasing population levels in the area lead to more and more indigenous forest and bush being cleared for farming purposes. Remaining forests like the Itohya also suffered greatly from illegal logging. As a result, the still largely intact Itohya forest became a refuge for primates, birds and numerous other animals. In turn this development attracted illegal hunters and trappers with all of its consequences.

Support Welcome

In 2007, due to the negotiations of Raphael Eribankia and some fortunate circumstances, the Ugandan organisation CSWCT (Chimpanzee Sanctuary and Wildlife Conservation Trust, known as The Chimpanzee Trust) became involved. An agreement, the `Memorandum of Understanding` was drawn up which was renewed in 2013 and is still valid today. The aim of this memorandum is the protection of the primates and other wildlife by preserving the forest in its original size and maintaining the animals’ habitat. Numerous surveys describe this area as a particular `hotspot of bio-diversity` in flora and fauna.

Reforestation of timber

Bamboo plantation

Bamboo plantation

In the late 1980´s and early 1990´s an intensive effort was made to increase the variety of indigenous trees through replanting and the cultivation of seedlings as well as care and maintenance.

In addition to this the school set aside some of the bushland to cultivate fast growing trees to be used for building, firewood and commercial sale. Some of these trees have reached a considerable size by now although a lot of them have already been harvested.

The bushland in the west of the forest has been completely cleared by tenant-farmers. They have now been asked to hand back their land to be reforested, when it came to light that their use of the land had no legal grounding.

Scientific Assistance

To protect the primates from being displaced and hunted as well as to study their migration patterns, the Chimpanzee Trust opened an observation post. Students and student apprentices of the Jane Goodall Foundation and Makerere University are regularly on site to count and observe the primates.

Holistic approach

The Chimpanzee Trust is running and looking after various projects in the surrounding area. The aim is to increase the acceptance for coexistence with the primates in the local population as well as to compensate for the loss of hunting grounds and sources of firewood. This input is of upmost importance if there is to be a shift of paradigm in the local communities surrounding the forest. The forest should not be conceived as a threat or self-service shop but a unique chance for new areas of employment and sources of income such as eco-tourism, learning opportunities and specialised agricultural products. Above all the message to be conveyed is that the future of the forest is important for the future of people and animals alike.

Friends of TECO support these activities strongly. The Itohya forest is a key element in the continuity and survival of the school, not least because the clearing of forests in this part of Uganda is carrying on at a large scale.

Little Chimp by flöschen

Itohya Forest

High tropical Forsest mit grosser botanischer Artenvielfalt und reicher Fauna

High tropical Forsest mit grosser botanischer Artenvielfalt und reicher Fauna

Die Teco Munteme verfügt über ein grosses, zusammenhängendes Stück angrenzenden Urwald von ca. 350 ha, nebst Gras- und Buschland von ca. 150 ha. Diese Fläche konnte Ende der 80er-Jahre von der Regierung für 49 Jahre geleast, vermessen und verbrieft werden. Sein damaliger Bestand an wertvollen Hölzern war jedoch nur noch gering, trotzdem wurde seine Bedeutung für die Zukunft der Schule erkannt. Der langjährige Mitarbeiter Seezi Mugisa hat all diese Versuche und Arbeiten über all die Jahre bis zum heutigen Tag mit viel Engagement betreut und organisiert. Ihm ist  es letztlich zu verdanken, dass die Waldfläche bis heute nicht angetastet wurde durch den starken Bedarf nach Kulturland.

Fauna und Flora

Anfänglich waren die im Wald wohnenden Primaten eher lästig; vor allem die grosse Zahl Paviane, die in regelmässigen Abständen die Felder der Schule und anderer Anstösser plünderten oder zerstörten. Selbst Wächter und Zäune aller Art waren der Schlauheit und Lernfähigkeit dieser Tiere kaum gewachsen. Zu dieser Zeit waren die Schimpansen jedoch erst seltene und scheue Gäste. Dafür zeigten sich die neugierigen schwarz-weissen Colobus und Meerkatzen auch ganz nahe bei den Häusern. Mangabees und Redtailmonkeys waren sehr scheu und entsprechend selten zu beobachten. Dies nicht zuletzt auch, weil angrenzend noch zahlreiche andere intakte Waldstücke vorhanden waren, vor allem entlang der Bäche und Flüsse. Itohya ist durch seine Kompaktheit auch reich an Vögeln und Insekten, die sich von seiner Vielfalt ernähren und dadurch zu seinem Fortbestand beitragen.

In diversen Publikationen wird die grosse Biodiversität dieses Waldes als besonders bedeutend eingestuft. Die ohnehin artenreiche Vegetation Ugandas kulminiert hier zum «biodiversity hot spot», mit grosser Vielfalt an Bäumen, Büschen und Sträuchern. zusätzlich bildet der Itohya Forest ein wichtiges Wasserreservoir mit seinen verzwiegten Flussläufen und Sümpfen sowie einem beachtlichen Grundwasserspeicher.

Druck auf den Urwald

In Folge wachsender Bevölkerung in der Umgebung wurde zunehmend mehr Urwald für die landwirtschaftliche Nutzung gerodet. Gekoppelt mit dem damit steigenden Holzbedarf fällten immer wieder  Eindringlinge illegal grosse Bäume im Itohya Forest um deren Holz heimlich zu verkaufen. Durch die Zunehmende Abholzung in der Nachbarschaft wurde der Wald zum Zufluchtsort für Primaten, Vögel und andere Tiere, welche aber auch die Fallenjäger anzogen, mit den entsprechenden Konsequenzen.

Willkommene Unterstützung

Dank einer glücklichen Fügung kam 2007 die Ugandische Organisation CSWCT (Chimpanzee Sanctuary and Wildlife Conservation Trust, kurz: Chimpanzee Trust) durch Vermittlung des damaligen Principals Raphael Eribankia auf den Plan. Es wurde eine Vereinbarung (Memorandum of Understanding) ausgehandelt die 2013 erneueert wurde und bis heute bestand hat. Ziel der Vereinbarung ist der Schutz der Primaten, aber auch die Erhaltung des Waldes in seiner ursprünglichen Grösse und biologischen Vielfalt. Verschiedene Gutachten bezeichnen diese Region als besonders Artenreich, sowohl Flora wie Fauna.

Aufforstung von Nutzholz

Bambuspflanzung

Bambuspflanzung

Schon in den späten 80iger und beginnenden 90iger Jahren wurde mit zahlreichen und intensiven Versuchen die Vielfalt an einheimischen Baumarten wieder vergrössert durch Saatzucht, Einpflanzungen und Pflege.

Zusätzlich hat die Schule in all den Jahren zur Entlastung des Urwaldes mehrere Parzellen des Buschlands mit schnell wachsenden Baumarten bepflanzt als Nutzholz für den Bau der Schule, für Brennholz und den Verkauf (Strommasten). Diese sind mittlerweile zu stattlicher Grösse angewachsen, aber teilweise auch bereits stark abgeerntet worden.

Das Buschland westlich des Waldes wurde in den vergangenen Jahren restlos kultiviert durch Pächter.  Diese sind nun beauftragt, diese Parzellen allmählich an Aufforstungen abzutreten, da ihr Nutzungsrecht wegen unklarer Machenschaften nicht rechtmässig ist.

Wissenschaftliche Begleitung

Um einerseits die Primaten besser vor Jagd und Vertreibung zu schützen, aber auch zur wissenschaftlichen Erforschung der Wanderbewegungen derer wurde von Chimpanzee Trust ein Beobachtungsposten eingerichtet. Es finden regelmässige Zählungen und Beobachtungen durch Studenten und Praktikanten der Jane Goodall-Foundation und der Makerere Universität statt.

Ganzheitlicher Ansatz

Chimpanzee Trust betreut zudem diverse Projekte in der Gegend um den Itohya-Forest, die das Ziel der besseren Akzeptanz der lokalen Bevölkerung für die Primaten und den Waldschutz verfolgen, als Entschädigung für das nicht mehr Bejagen der Fauna und die Verhinderung des Schlagens von Bau- und Brennholz im Wald. Diese Arbeit ist sehr wichtig aber auch sehr delikat, denn es muss ein Paradigmenwechsel bei den Betroffenen stattfinden, damit für sie der Wald nicht mehr Bedrohung und Selbstbedienungsladen sondern eine einmalige Chance für neue Betätigungsfelder und Einkünfte bietet (Ecotourismus, Bildungsangebote, spezielle Agrarprodukte, etc.), was dem Wald ein langfristiges Überleben ermöglicht.

Die Friends of Teco unterstützen diese Aktivitäten nach Kräften, denn sie sind eine Schlüsselvoraussetzung auch für das Fortbestehen der Idee der Schule. Dies umso mehr, als die Abholzungsrate in der nahen Umgebung nach wie vor goss ist.